2019 COLA Increase

While the National Consumer Price Index for All Urban Consumers increased by 0.2% in February 2019, our efforts during the 2017 contract negotiations will result in a raise above the national average (and our negotiated floor of 2.0%)!

The San Francisco/Oakland Consumer Price Index for Urban Wage Earners and Clerical Workers (CPI-W) for February 2019 just came in at 3.3% 

After including the 0.50% negotiated raise, our total increase is 3.8%

This increase will be effective on 04/15/19, appearing our your 05/03/19 paycheck.

Thank you for being a member of Local 2019 and helping achieve this increase for your Sisters and Brothers!

In solidarity,


**Note this is subject to verification with HR

Lucha Obrera: Latinos and their Unions in Mid-Twentieth-Century San Francisco

Historian Eduardo Contreras will discuss the centrality of unions and labor organizing in Latino life from the 1930s to the 1950s. Drawing on material from his new book, Latinos and the Liberal City: Politics and Protest in San Francisco (UPenn Press, 2019), Contreras will explain how unionization transformed Latinos into political actors and how the pursuit of rights, power, and recognition emanated — first and foremost — from their unions. Contreras conducted a considerable amount of research for this book at the Labor Archives and Research Center (LARC) at San Francisco State University.

Where:  ILWU Local 34 hall, 4 Berry Street, San Francisco (at 2nd Street on the Embarcadero next to Giant’s Stadium)

When:  Friday February 22nd | Refreshments at 6:30pm, program at 7:00pm

Refreshments courtesy Knight’s Catering (represented by UNITE HERE Local 2)

Both events are free and open to public | Wheelchair accessible


Candidate Statements for 2018 Elections

Please see below for 3 candidate statements for the current election.


Mortay Mendoza (for Executive Board)

My name is Mortay Mendoza and I thank you for the nomination and consideration to run for re-election for the EBMUD AFSCME Local 2019 Board of Directors. I have served as 2nd Vice President of the Executive Board of Directors for Local 1 AFSCME in Contra Costa County, a 5000 member union. I currently serve on the EBMUD Board of Directors and negotiation team. I am looking forward to progressing our union forward as laws and regulations change while maintaining fluid union operations and making sound decisions. If elected, I look forward to serving the union in a higher capacity for years to come.

Thank you,

Mortay Mendoza


Wendy Ibarra (for Shop Steward)

I’m Wendy Ibarra, Customer Service Representative II in the Contact Center since 2004.

Currently I hold positions within L2019 as Recording Secretary, Officer, Executive Board Member, and Steward, as well as serving on various committees.

I request your vote for Union Steward where I will support and represent union rights as well as ensuring the district adheres to our MOU.  I’m eager to work towards positive change within our local and foster improved communication between the District and employees.  I look forward to the opportunity to serve you.


Ron Lastimosa (for Shop Steward)

Hello, my name is Ron Lastimosa. I have been with EBMUD and Local 2019 for the last seven years. I have twenty years of experience in the mortgage/real estate industry and majored in Finance at the University of San Francisco.

I have extensive experience in resolving conflict with city/county tax departments, title companies, agents, attorneys and customers. I accepted this nomination because I’m proud of what L2019 has done for me and my family and I wanted to return the favor, roll up my sleeves and “kick in” for the cause by helping solidify the union’s support of its member in this capacity.. I hope you find that I can be impartial, non-biased and forthright in representing our union members..thank you for your time..